Fattoria del Teso is located in the municipality of Montecarlo, a picturesque medieval village near Lucca roughly halfway between Florence and the Tyrrhenian sea. Given its favourable climate – 50 kilometres from both the sea and the Apennine mountains – and the composition of the soil, rich in clay and fossils, the territory of Montecarlo has been known for producing wines since the Roman times. Indeed, the original name of the village was “Vivinaia”; it was renamed Montecarlo in 1333 in honour of Charles IV of Bohemia, soon to become Holy Roman Emperor. In the second half of the Nineteenth Century viticulture in Montecarlo took a decisive step forward when a group of winegrowers went to the Chablis region in France to study the renowned techniques used there. They returned home with new vines and methodologies and they soon started to produce an excellent wine, known at that time with the name of “Chablis from Montecarlo”. In 1930 Montecarlo wines were served at the wedding of the future King of Italy, Umberto di Savoia.
Fattoria del Teso is an historical property, fought over by the nobility and clergy since the Middle Ages. A parchment dating 1253, held in the archive of Lucca Municipal Library, documents a dispute between the Camaldolese (Benedictine) Abbey of Pozzeveri and the Noblemen of Uzzano and Vivinaia about the property “in loco ubi dicitur…nel Teso”.
Since the early 1970s Fattoria del Teso has been a model of modern agriculture and innovative viticulture, though following the tradition of Montecarlo long wine history. Today, the estate covers about 15 hectares of vineyards. All phases of winemaking, from fermentation to bottling, are overseen by oenologist Francesco Bartoletti, who has extensive experience in Italy and abroad.